corn muffins

I bought some lovely finely ground corn meal from the farmers market and have been wanting to make something with it. I found a nice little muffin tin at the antique store and knew I had to make these corn muffins.

Because the corn meal is so finely ground, the muffins have almost a creamy texture to them when they are baked. They are on the savory side and can be served as a side, but I like them with honey and butter.


This recipe is from Scott Peacock. I used tiny muffin tins and it made 45 little muffins. If you have standard size tins, it should make 12.

Ingredients
* 2 TB unsalted butter, melted + more, room temperature for tins and serving
* 1½ C corn meal, finely ground
* ¾ TSP baking soda
* 1 TSP coarse salt (I used grey sea salt)
* 2¼ – 2½ C buttermilk
* 2 eggs, lightly beaten
* honey for serving (optional)

Preheat oven to 425. Coat your muffin tin with butter + set aside.
In a medium bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.

Then whisk in wet ingredients. First use 2¼ C buttermilk. The batter should be runny so if it isn’t loose enough, add the extra ¼ C.
Pour batter into tins and bake until the top is golden brown (12-14 min for small tins, up to 20 for large ones).
Take muffins out of tins immediately and let cool.
Serve with butter and honey and enjoy!

About shara

I knit, I cook, I blog. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in baking, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

