eggs and garlic roots

This may sound a bit strange, but have you ever had garlic roots with your eggs? I myself thought it was strange when a farmers market vendor suggested it to me after buying some green garlic a few weeks back, but I promised her I would try it. I am glad I did because it is really good.

What you first need is healthy roots. When you get your green garlic home, put it in a glass of cold water that covers the roots. You can cover the greens with a plastic bag to keep them in good shape as well. They will stay good for about 7-10 days this way.


To make this, you don’t need much. Just some eggs, garlic roots, butter, and some salt and pepper for seasoning.
To start, rinse the garlic roots well under cold water. Cut the roots so only 1/8-1/4″ remain on the garlic and pick away any bits that look bad.
Coarsely chop the roots and set aside.

Next, crack your eggs and give them a quick scramble in a bowl. Add some salt and pepper.
Put a nonstick skillet over medium heat and put some butter in. When butter is melted, add most of the garlic roots, reserving some for garnish. Sauté for about 30 seconds before adding the egg mixture.
Cook eggs to desired doneness and take off heat. Garnish with remaining roots.
That is good, right?

About shara

I knit, I cook, I blog. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in recipes, seasonal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

