quick & delish: roasted asparagus

If you hungry and don’t have a lot of time and really don’t want to spend what little time you do have cleaning, then maybe you should become acquainted with roasted asparagus.

It is done in less than 15 minutes and there is practically no mess. All you need is some fresh asparagus, olive oil, and salt. The result is a great little snack or side and the roasting really brings out the sweetness in the asparagus.

I get my asparagus from a farmer at the farmer’s market. They are the only vendor that doesn’t pre-bundle them so you can pick as much or as little as you want. I really like the skinny ones so I spend a minute gathering them. The other benefit to that is I don’t buy more than I need!

When you get your asparagus home if you are not planning on using it right away you should put it in water and in your fridge. This helps keep it alive and will taste that much better when you use it. OK so let’s roast some asparagus!

Ingredients
* fresh asparagus
* olive oil
* coarse salt
So, very simple. Preheat the oven to 400. Trim off the ends of the asparagus.
Line a cookie sheet with foil and spread out the asparagus.
Drizzle some oilve oil and coarse salt over the asparagus and use your hands to shimmy them around to coat.
Place in oven and let cook for 5-10 minutes till desired doneness. You will start to smell them when they are nearly done. At about 4 minutes they will be a bright green and I usually shake the pan and let them cook for another 2-3 minutes after that.
All you have to do now is put them on a plate and eat! So good and so yum – enjoy!

About shara

I knit, I cook, I blog. Welcome to my world.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

